MENU

Reviews

Add A Review
Rated 5/5 based on 20 customer reviews
"Joe Spallone is a brilliant physical therapist. Have gone to him for years when I have any PT needs. He's creative, strong, caring... and knows what he's doing. He's brought me back from shoulder replacement, ruptured tendon in my ankle and broken kneecap. Recently when Joe was unavailable, I worked with Kerry, one of his associates, who turns out also to be terrific and knowledgeable. Highly recommend this practice."
May 05, 2017
"I originally was just looking for a physical therapy location that was convenient to me, and ended up finding this fantastic location. Kerry helped me improve my shoulder and get back into top volleyball form, and now I'm back playing and armed with the stretches and exercises necessary to keep me going. I highly recommend this place, very relaxed, fun, and personal."
Apr 09, 2017
"The Function First team was first recommended to me by an MD who specializes in foot injuries. I was very pleased with my experience working with Kerry Ojeda. The depth of her knowledge is clear, but she can speak in terms that a layperson understands. I knew I was in good hands. The whole team at FF is welcoming and easy to work with. I returned months later for a wrist injury and was just as happy with the attentiveness and focused therapy that helped me regain strength and mobility quickly. I would recommend FF to anyone committed to working toward a full recovery."
Feb 17, 2017
"Initially I contacted Function First because it was close to my home. On the phone, the receptionist was very friendly and emailed me all the paperwork which greatly simplified the onboarding process. I had an issue with my right shoulder where an inflamed tendon was reducing my mobility and my ability to play sports. I started working with Kerry Ojeda and she quickly got me to work on focused exercises that helped me recover. A year later I developed patellar tendonitis in my right knee and I came back to Function First. Kerry is a great Physical Therapist. She understands sports injuries and helped me visualize the importance of core muscles and posture on the functioning of shoulder and knee joints. She is very professional but also fun to work with and her positive attitude helps with the progress and recovery. She really cares for her patients and I definitely would recommend her. I haven’t worked with the other PTs, but from what I have seen they seem all friendly and competent. The facility is a wide open space in a loft space and everybody there works in a relaxed atmosphere."
Jan 20, 2017
"Function First is a seriously helpful place. It is professional and up-to-date, and yet it is very pleasant and relaxing to be a patient there. I never dreaded going there - I actually looked forward to my appointments. I worked with Diane Richmond who is competent (understatement) and dedicated. I felt like I was in good hands and she really cared about my progress."
Jan 19, 2017
"The first phone call to Function First was very enlightening. The secretary was patient and thorough when answering my questions. She immediately faxed forms to my home with instructions. I met the staff in June 2016. I became a part of a professional and friendly group, until my final session on December 29, 2016."
Jan 16, 2017
"I had had pain in my sitz bones for years when I sat and acute pain in my spine at the waist when I lay down to sleep at night. The pain when sitting was the result of a reaction to a medication which had persisted for years after I stopped taking it. There was tightness in my shoulders caused by tension in the muscles. I am happy to report that I no longer have pain when sitting nor is there pain in my back at night. I had overnight flights in coach to Santiago, Chile and back without pain from all those hours of sitting. Previously, I had gone to Function First after torn meniscus surgery and shoulder surgery for a frayed rotator cuff. Both areas were restored to full function. I highly recommend this office for anyone who needs physical therapy."
Dec 18, 2016
"My experience at Function First was terrific. It is a very low-key but efficient facility, well-equipped and east to get in/out. Kerry O did a perfect job getting my messed up knee back in order in just a couple months, and I'm now back to cycling, running and skiing. The other therapists I observed were also very professional and patient with all flavors of customers. Kerry is top notch!"
Dec 14, 2016
"After attending a well-known hospital's physical therapy facility and making little progress, I was fortunate to start my current round of treatment at Function First with Kerry Ojeda. I received incredible treatment and training, which I can also do at home. This resulted in a marked improvement in my mobility and reversed a potential knee replacement surgery. Thank you!"
Nov 03, 2016
"I can't say enough good things about this place . The receptionists are so warm and caring and will try to help and accommodate your schedule and needs. Kerry is really an asset to this facility and she has an enormous amount of patient and I can not thank her enough for everything she helped me with."
Oct 30, 2016
"Kerry was fantastic! She helped me understand what was going on with my injury and how certain exercises can help to make me stronger and help to relieve the pain. Everyone who works there is friendly and professional and it is a well equipped studio.I highly recommend using them for all your physical therapy needs!"
Oct 28, 2016
"Function First is a quiet, relaxing facility conducive to focusing on your health. And Kerry Ojeda is a dedicated, conscientious and knowledgeable therapist who targeted my ailments correctly and made sure I had a good understanding of the exercise routines prescribed. She has been a great help in restoring my well-being, and I wholeheartedly recommend her as a therapist."
Oct 28, 2016
"Expert therapists in a friendly environment. Recommended by my hospital (Hospital for Special Surgery) with good reason."
Oct 26, 2016
"This is a wonderful place from your first experience with the front desk staff, the Physical Therapists, home exercises, and dealing with insurance issues. I had both knees replaced and feel that I have made great strides--literally and physically with their help. I recommend them without reservation. And the space is lovely and filled with light and good vibes. Walk or run (if you can) and get yourself there. You will always leave feeling better than when you arrived."
Oct 25, 2016
"Everyone at the facility is awesome. From the moment you walk in, the receptionists make you feel at home. But of course I wouldn't give you a 5-star rating if the physical therapists themselves weren't good at their jobs. Kerry has been great - she's professional, gives you challenging exercises where you can clearly see yourself improving, answers emails promptly and checks in often, and makes the sessions fun. What more can you ask for!"
Oct 22, 2016
"Working with Kerry and the Function First team was a great experience. Kerry was extremely knowledgeable and helpful in helping me regain flexibility and strength in my shoulder after I fractured my scapula. The sessions were always enjoyable and beneficial and I was always eager to come back. Before starting PT I was told that it can get boring and repetitive after a few weeks, but that definitely was not the case at Function First. Additionally, Kerry taught me valuable techniques for improving my form while working out that I still use. I was amazed at how quickly my shoulder progressed after starting PT with Kerry. I have already recommended Function First to many of my friends. Thanks again, Kerry!"
Oct 22, 2016
"Kerry Ojeda was my PT at Function First and she was terrific. I was recovering from a shoulder operation and she knew exactly what I needed, worked diligently to get my shoulder back to form far quicker than I expected, and left me with the knowledge base I need to keep my shoulder in good shape. Her understanding of muscles and tendons is so complete it's basically intuitive. Other staff at Function First were excellent, too."
Oct 21, 2016
"The Function First office is a pleasant place to recover from an injury or surgery. Joe & Kerry administer expert care & treatment. I have recommended them to friends in the NYC area."
Oct 18, 2016
"I had the pleasure of having Kerry Ojeda as my PT. She did a wonderful job and was incredibly thorough. She taught me proper form and function in my exercise technique so that I could prevent another injury in the future. It helped me monumentally and I came back better than ever once she helped heal me! She definitely knows what she's talking about! Thanks Kerry, you rock!"
Oct 17, 2016
"Kerry Ojeda is an amazing physical therapist. I have a herniated disc and was experiencing tightness and pain, and she caused me to experience a really significant improvement. I had been to a large PT facility in the past, and let me say, going to Function First and specifically Kerry was a much, much better experience. Worlds apart, really. Night and day. She addressed my situation in a much more nuanced, thoughtful, and individualized way. She personally worked with me, as opposed to the other place that mostly sent me to do self-exercises. I think Kerry was amazing, excellent, and just superb and do not hesitate to recommend her!! Five stars."
Oct 16, 2016

Testimonials
My overall experience @ Function First Physical Therapy was exceptional. Rob displays a thorough understanding of movement and function as well as issues unique to runners and running. Definitely the most targeted and complete treatment plan in all my years of sport related injuries. I do not believe this issue will recur if I consistently perform my ‘home exercise program’. I am extremely pleased with my ideal outcome as Rob had promised from the initial visit. Will definitely recommend to family, friends and MD.

N.S. Brooklyn, NY

I have had the privilege of working with Joe off and on over the past 6 years for various injuries from shoulder surgery, knee pain from a meniscal tear,low back pain and and neck pain. Joe is truly extraordinary and I consider him much more then a physical therapist, he is a master of the body and movement. He had enabled me to understand the ways in which my body works and move as efficiently as possible , while essentially eliminating pain. He is extremely sensitive and empathetic. I cannot emphasize how much Joe has helped reshape my life, my golf game, and subsequently, my future.

Stanley NY, NY

My experience at Function First Physical Therapy was ‘great’. I finally understand that everything I do, from standing to sitting, effects the pain in my low back region. I am much more conscious of my actions to prevent any reoccurance and have been thoroughly retrained in how I move, lift and bend. I would definitely recommend FFPT to my friends and family.

S.M.

I had an exceptional experience at Function First PT and resolved my knee issues post surgery 99.5% Having seen lots of PT’s over the years, starting in high school, and the NY area, this was by far the best care and most personalized experience. They addressed not just the pain/injury but the bigger picture of correction/prevention. Also handled the emotional challenge that is natural, given the ups and downs of post surgical recovery. Really a successful, positive experience.

L.P. NY, NY

My overall experience at Function First Physical Therapy was nothing less then excellent!! My elbow is recovered 100% from surgery and precise, thorough rehabilitation. Joe, thanks so much.

M.E. NY, NY

My experience at Function First Physical Therapy was excellent. The administrative staff was friendly, professional and took care of all my insurance issues and questions thoroughly. The PT was caring and always gave me his full attention and more. Everything regarding my condition and my responsibilities to avoid further problems were explained very carefully. I would send anyone who needs PT to Function First. Thanks so much.

R.R. NY, NY

My experience at Function First PT was “Awesome”. When I first went to PT, I was sent to a very busy PT operation at a hospital based clinic. I’m sure what they provide is adequate for a lot of patients, but for people who don’t respond quickly and need closer supervision and attention to detail, Function First answers that need.

M.A. Hoboken, NJ